Bali Visa Information

Here are the facts on the Bali visa situation.  We know because we are often have to pick up our couples at the airport and are always talking with people arriving in Bali.

  • You need a visa to enter Indonesia.  You can get one at the airport in most cases, called the Visa on Arrival.
  • 30-Day Visa On Arrival (VOA).   Pay on arrival, get a visa in your passport, get it stamped. Most visitors fall in this category.  See the detailed instructions below.
  • 60-Day Tourist Visa.  Available at Indonesian embassies and consulates outside Indonesia.
  • Visa Free. Show your passport, get stamped, that’s it. Applies only to a few select, mostly ASEAN countries.

Visa Free – Short Visit

Citizens from the following countries are given Short Term Visitor Visas for purposes of holiday, exhibition, tourism, business, and social-culture and valid for 30 (thirty) days. This Visa could not be converted, extended or used to obtain other immigration permits:

• Brunei Darussalam
• Chile
• Hong Kong SAR
• Macao SAR
• Malaysia
• Morocco
• Peru
• Philippines
• Thailand
• Vietnam
• Singapore

The official entry requirements for the issuance of a visa-free short visit permit:

1. Passport must be from one of the eleven countries listed above.
2. Passport must be valid for a minimum of 6 (six) months from the date of entry into Indonesia.
3. Onward or return tickets are compulsory.
4. Visitors must enter and exit through the airports or seaports or border crossing post officially approved as an “International Gateway” by the Indonesian Immigration department.

Visa on Arrival (VOA)

Citizens of certain countries may purchase upon arrival in Indonesia a 30-day visa which can be extended for an additional 30 days by application to the immigration department.

This visa is obtained directly upon landing at major airports and seaports in Indonesia. The Visa on Arrival is not a work visa or a visitation visa therefore it can not be converted to obtain other immigration permits. The maximum stays permitted for the visa on arrival is 30 days. If you plan to stay longer than 30 days, you need to mention your intention to stay longer. Visa on Arrival can be extended for another 30 days via local immigration offices.

The requirements for Visa on Arrival are:
• Expiration date of the applicant’s passport must be at least 6 (six) months after the date of entry
• Round-trip airplane ticket
• Payment of a US$ 25 visa fee
• A minimum of two blank pages in your passport

Those countries eligible for Visa on Arrival are as follow:

1. Argentina
2. Australia
3. Austria
4. Algeria
5. Bahrain
6. Belgium
7. Brazil
8. Bulgaria
9. Czech Republic
10. Cambodia
11. Canada
12. Cyprus
13. China
14. Denmark
15. Estonia
16. Egypt
17. Fiji
18. Finland
19. France
20. Germany
21. Greece
22. Hungary
23. India
24. Iceland
25. Iran
26. Ireland
27. Italy
28. Japan
29. Kuwait
30. Laos
31. Latvia
32. Libya
33. Lithuania
34. Liechtenstein
35. Luxembourg
36. Maldives
37. Malta
38. Mexico
39. Monaco
40. New Zealand
41. Netherlands
42. Norway
43. Oman
44. Panama
45. Poland
46. Portugal
47. Qatar
48. Romania
49. Russia
50. Saudi Arabia
51. Slovak Republic
52. Slovenia
53. Spain
54. South Africa
55. South Korea
56. Suriname
57. Sweden
58. Switzerland
59. Taiwan, PRC
60. Tunisia
61. Timor Leste
62. Uni Arab Emirates
63. United Kingdom (British)
64. United States of America

List of Airports and Seaports granting Visa on Arrival:

A. Airports

1. Sultan Iskandar Muda (in Banda Aceh, Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam)
2. Polonia (in Medan, North Sumatera)
3. Sultan Syarif Kasim II (in Pekanbaru, Riau)
4. Hang Nadim (in Batam, Riau Archipelago)
5. Minangkabau (in Padang, West Sumatera)
6. Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II (in Palembang, South Sumatera)
7. Soekarno-Hatta (in the Special Region of the Capital City of Jakarta)
8. Halim Perdana Kusuma (in the Special Region of the Capital City of Jakarta)
9. Husein Sastranegara (in Bandung, West Java)
10. Adi Sucipto (in Yogyakarta, Special Territory of Yogyakarta)
11. Ahmad Yani (in Semarang, Central Java)
12. Adi Sumarmo (in Surakarta (Solo), Central Java)
13. Ir. Juanda (in Surabaya, East Java)
14. Supadio (in Pontianak, West Kalimantan (Borneo))
15. Sepinggan (in Balikpapan, East Kalimantan (Borneo))
16. Sam Ratulangi (in Manado, North Sulawesi (Celebes))
17. Hasanuddin (in Makassar, South Sulawesi (Celebes))
18. Ngurah Rai (in Denpasar, Bali)
19. Selaparang (in Mataram, West Nusa Tenggara)
20. El Tari (in Kupang, East Nusa Tenggara)

B. Seaports

1. Sekupang (in Batam, Riau Archipelago)
2. Citra Tritunas (Harbor Bay) (in Batam, Riau Archipelago)
3. Nongsa (in Batam, Riau Archipelago)
4. Marina Teluk Senimba (in Batam, Riau Archipelago)
5. Batam Centre (in Batam, Riau Archipelago)
6. Bandar Bintan Telani Lagoi (in Tanjung Uban, Riau Archipelago)
7. Bandar Sri Udana Lobam (in Tanjung Uban, Riau Archipelago)
8. Sri Bintan Pura (in Tanjung Pinang, Riau Archipelago)
9. Tanjung Balai Karimun (in Tanjung Balai Karimun, Riau Archipelago)
10. Belawan (in Belawan, North Sumatera)
11. Sibolga (in Sibolga, North Sumatera)
12. Yos Sudarso (in Dumai, Riau)
13. Teluk Bayur (in Padang, West Sumatera)
14. Tanjung Priok (in the Special Region of the Capital City of Jakarta)
15. Tanjung Mas (in Semarang, Central Java)
16. Padang Bai (in Karangasem, Bali)
17. Benoa (in Badung, Bali)
18. Bitung (in Bitung, North Sulawesi)
19. Soekarno-Hatta (in Makassar, South Sulawesi)
20. Pare-Pare (in Pare-Pare, South Sulawesi)
21. Maumere (in Maumere, East Nusa Tenggara)
22. Tenau (in Kupang, East Nusa Tenggara)
23. Jayapura (in Jayapura, Papua)

Other Classes of Visas for Temporary Visitors

There are various other classes of visas available to visitors to Indonesia. If you are making your travel arrangements with we will be happy to provide you additional information and assistance regarding the following visa classes:

Business Visa – This visa is given by an Indonesian Embassies abroad to applicants visiting Indonesia for normal business activities (including attending a conference/seminar) which do not involve taking up employment or receiving any payments whilst in Indonesia. This visa, valid for a stay of 60 days, can be for a single or multiple visits. This visa is obtainable after application by a sponsoring party in Indonesia to the Department of Immigration.

Social-Cultural Visa – This visa is issued by as Indonesian Embassy abroad to applicants who are going to Indonesia for a social/cultural visit, such as visiting relatives/friends; social organizations; exchange visits between educational institutions; undertaking research and attending training programs in Indonesia. The validity of this visa is for a 60 day stay, but can be extended upon application in Indonesia. This visa is obtainable after application by a sponsoring party in Indonesia to the Department of Immigration.

Employment Visa – This visa is given to applicants whose purpose of visit is to take up employment and require sponsorship by a company or organization in Indonesia.

Limited Stay Permit (KITAS) – This visa is a Temporary Stay Permit (KITAS) and is issued to applicants whose purpose of visit is to stay in Indonesia for a limited period.

Retirement Visa – Those wishing to retire in Indonesia can obtain renewable 5 years visa. Certain insurance, residential and financial capability standards must be met to quality for this visa which can be coordinated by a local travel agent.

NOTICE: The information supplied was believed correct and current at the time of publication. We strongly suggest that you contact your travel company when making your travel arrangement or your nearest Indonesian Embassy to obtain the latest visa information.

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *



There was an error submitting your comment. Please try again.